Comments

Every project, task, request, and document in Workzone has a Comments section (unless disabled for Documents in settings) on the details tray for that item where user and system comments are recorded. The Comments section is accessed by clicking the project or task name from the List or Gantt view. In the main Projects area, a task or project with an existing comments thread will have a small speech bubble to the right of the project/task name (the bubble will be colored red if there are unread comments, and gray if read previously).

To add a new comment, click in the Add a comment box, then type the comment and click the Send button.

Unless the "Automatically email comments to subscribed users" system wide setting has been disabled, users that will receive an automatic notification of any added comments will be listed below the comment box. Clicking the + or initials/profile icons at the bottom provides the means of adding or removing to the subscribed users.
In addition to the subscriber notifications, you can also use the @ symbol (typing in or clicking the button in the top right, as seen above), to Mention a User.
Automatic comments are made by the system for changes to certain project and task fields, to create an audit trail of changes made to the project. Changes made to the following fields will automatically create a comment in the comment list for a task:
  • Responsible
  • Duration
  • Start date
  • End date
  • Status
  • % Complete
  • Notes
Changes made to the following fields will automatically create a comment in the comment list for a project:
  • Target end date
  • Responsible
  • Notes
The automatic comment will indicate who made the change, what fields were changed, the previous/current values of the changed fields, and the date and time the change was made.
To hide the automatic (system) comments, leaving just the user-created comments, check the Hide System Activities box.

Delete or Edit Project And Task Comments

Administrators can delete project and task comments. This may be necessary if a user posts an unwanted comment.
To delete a project or task comment, hover the cursor over the comment and click the to the right of the comment. Click OK to confirm that you want to permanently delete the comment.
A user can go back and edit a comment they specifically entered (no user, including Administrators, can alter comments they did not make), using the pencil icon that displays when hovering the cursor over the comment. Edited comments will show "(edited)" as an indication.

NOTE: The overall system log (accessed under the “Reports” link) will maintain a permanent record of the original comment and a note that the comment has been deleted or edited, to maintain the audit trail of activity.

A user can go back and edit a comment they specifically entered (no user, including Administrators, can alter comments they did not make), using the pencil icon that displays when hovering the cursor over the comment. Edited comments will show "(edited)" as an indication.

React to an Existing Comment

Emoji reactions are a convenient means of acknowledging and adding to comments in Workzone. They're a helpful and fun approach to simple communication — many times an emoji can replace the necessity for a follow-up comment.

To add an emoji reaction to an existing comment, click the smiling face icon that appears to the right when hovering the cursor over a comment, as seen here:

Next, you can click on one of the many reaction icons in the selection box that appears, as seen here:

The selected icon will then appear below that comment, along with another icon for anyone to use to add additional reaction emoji:

If the cursor is hovered over an existing reaction icon, a small box will display that identifies which user(s) added that reaction:

NOTE: Adding a reaction emoji DOES NOT trigger any notification.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us