Overview of User Types

Each Workzone user is assigned a unique user account with a specific user type, designed to reflect the role they play and the level of access they should have in Workzone. Each user has the same user role across all workspaces and projects in Workzone.

Associate Users

Associates are the creators and organizers of workspaces. Associates have access to more functionality than Collaborators users. There are three types of Associate users: Administrators, Managers and Contributors.

Administrators

Administrators can create, view and modify all workspaces and all system features. Only Administrators can create Managers, Contributors, or other Administrators. Limit this role to the most trusted users in your organization. Administrators automatically see all workspaces and all workspace content; they cannot be restricted from seeing any information in Workzone. Only an Administrator can delete a workspace.

Managers

This type of user can modify all aspects of the workspaces to which they are assigned, whether or not the Manager was the creator of the item. Additionally, the Manager can create new workspaces, partners, screening rooms, and Reviewer and Partner users. This is the most common role given to individuals who are organizing a workspace, loading documents or managing projects.

Typically, client service team members and project Managers are assigned this role. A Manager can be restricted from seeing workspaces, projects, folders and documents by an Administrator or another Manager. Managers can update all tasks within projects that they can access, whether or not they are the responsible party for a task. Managers cannot delete a workspace.

Contributors

This type of user can view and add items to all folders, documents, calendars and projects of the workspaces to which they are assigned, but cannot modify or delete items that they did not create. A Contributor can upload new versions of documents, whether or not they uploaded the original version.

A Contributor cannot create new workspaces or users, nor can they view/edit Reviewer or Partner user information.

Though they cannot add new projects, a Contributor can add tasks to existing projects and can edit tasks to which they are assigned. They can upload an attachment to any project or task to which they have access, whether or not they are responsible.

Collaborators

Collaborators have more limited access and permissions to Workzone than the above Associate user types. These roles are usually ideal for users outside of your internal team or organization, such as clients or third-party vendors.

Reviewers

These are team members whose primary need within Workzone is to review documents or projects created by others. These may be users outside the organization who log in to see the work being done for them or those inside your company to who would benefit from a simplistic.
Within the standard folders in Documents, Reviewers can view, but not upload or modify documents. Reviewers can only upload documents to the Reviewer Uploads folder and can only modify or delete documents in that folder.
Reviewers can upload events to the calendar (if the calendar has been enabled for Reviewers to view under settings for that workspace), but can only edit events that they created.
Reviewers may update tasks for which they are the responsible party (if Projects has been enabled for Reviewer view under settings for that workspace), but cannot create new tasks or modify/update tasks assigned to others. They can upload an attachment to any project or task to which they have access, whether or not they are responsible.

Partner Users

Partner users are associated with a specific Partner Firm (set up separately). In Documents, the primary tool that most Partner users use in Workzone, Partner users can add, modify, and delete documents only in the partner folder of the specific workspaces to which they have been assigned.
Partner users may view the calendar if permitted, but may not add or edit calendar events.
Partner users can update tasks for which they are the responsible party, but cannot create new tasks or modify/update tasks created by or assigned to others. They can upload an attachment to any project or task to which they have access, whether or not they are responsible.
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.