Q: How can I recover a project/document I’ve recently deleted?
A: In the Projects module more menu, Administrators can access an option for "Projects Recycle bin" which, when clicked, will take you to a list of all recently deleted projects. Here you can check the box(es) next to the project(s) you wish to restore, and click the "Restore Project" button.
Projects only remain in the Recycle Bin for 14 days before being permanently deleted by Workzone automatically. Also, deleted project names have a suffix added with deletion details (i.e., "recycled-[date and time]").
Similarly, the Documents module contains a "Recycle Bin" option on the left hand side, along with a "Restore Files" button.
Q: Why do tasks change order when the dates are changed?
A: Tasks are sorted by their end date. Workzone prioritizes, by placing at the top, those tasks which are scheduled to be completed first. If the end date on a task changes to a later date, any tasks with a now earlier end date will be moved above, while any with a later end date will move below. This behavior is a normal part of Workzone and cannot be disabled or changed. Workzone places the task with the earliest end date at the top of a set of tasks and orders the list from top to bottom. If a tasks date is changed it’s order changes as a result. To curb this behavior, use dependencies to link your tasks start and end dates. Learn more about dependencies here.
Q: Since tasks are ordered by their end dates, what determines the order for tasks with the exact same end date?
A: With identical end dates, Workzone places the task with the earliest start date at the top of a set of tasks. If both start and end dates are equal, then the name of the task (alphabetically) is used (i.e. A first, Z last). Learn more about sorting here.
Q: Can I create a milestone task, or a task that has no duration?
A: You can! Simply enter a "0" in the duration column for that task. Once you do so, a ◆ will appear in that task's duration, denoting that it's a milestone.
Q: Why am I unable to view any other projects than this one?
A: The likely cause is a filter to show one project exclusively. In the example below, there is a filter showing a single project “Capabilities Brochure” circled in orange, which can be removed by clicking the X in the block for that particular filter.
Q: How can I control or prevent getting emails from Workzone with information that doesn’t pertain to me?
A: If you’re an Administrator user on your Workzone site, you can go to settings page for all workspaces (represented with a small gear in the top right corner), where there are several AUTO NOTIFICATIONS settings that can be adjusted (see screenshot below). Additionally, you can go to Setup for a single workspace, changing email notifications sent by that workspace in particular.
For any logged in user, accessing your user menu, where your picture or initials appear in the top right, will provide a link to “My Settings” which also has notifications for certain reports that are sent automatically. Here you can adjust the frequency of these reports at will.
Many of these reports can be filtered in Workzone to display specific items and, once changed, these changes are also reflected in the emailed version. For example, the To-Do List is helpful to most users by being filtered for their own personal responsibilities, but filtering the To-Do List to some other user does change the list to show that user’s responsibilities instead. This results in a different user’s (whoever the “Responsible” filter is set to) assignments displayed in the emailed version of the To-Do List.
Q: I forgot my Workzone login password. How do I reset it?
A: On the login page for Workzone, yourcompany.sharedwork.com, (change "yourcompany" to match your own organization's) there’s a link for “Forgot your password?” (circled in red in the screenshot below). When clicked, Workzone sends an email to the user’s email address with a link to create a new password. Learn more about setting up a new password here.
Q: How do I add lag or lead time (create gaps) in between dependent tasks?
A: When updating dependencies, click the ↔ symbol. There, you can enter a positive number to create lag time, or a negative number to create lead time. Learn more about adding lag or lead time here.
Q: How do I create a template to save time on building patterned or repeating projects?
A: For Administrator users, templates can be edited or created by navigating to the Projects module more menu (three vertical dots) and selecting "Project Templates".
Manager users (as well as Administrators) can also create a template directly from an existing project, found under the project more menu (three vertical dots) to the left of the project’s name in the Projects module.
Learn more about templates here.
Q: How do I create a project from an existing template?
A: In the Projects module’s Task List, click the "Add Project" button, fill out the required information, choosing the option to “Copy tasks from an existing template”, in the resulting options select the template’s name, choose “start on” or “end on”, and then the date. Clicking the “Save and Add Tasks” button at the bottom will create the project using the data from the selected template. Learn more about templates here.
Q: When creating a project and copying tasks from a template, why does the “end on” date chosen for the template vary from the actual last task?
A: Under a 5-day work week, Workzone performs a calculation of the duration of the template and counts backwards from the specified “end on” date that number of week days. When doing so, some tasks may have their individual end dates fall on ineligible workdays (weekends and holidays), which requires a slight adjustment in the project’s overall end date. The larger/longer the template, the more likely this variation can occur, but it generally shouldn’t be more than a few days.
Q: How do I remove a completed project from being listed alongside active projects, while preserving it historically?
A: From the Projects module, select the project with the checkbox to the left of the project name, select "Update Project State" and choose the "Completed" option. To view “Completed” projects, you can do so by adjusting Workzone’s filters. Learn more about project state here.
Q: In Projects, how can I quickly switch to a project/task’s folder in Documents, and vice versa?
A: In the Files section of the project or task tray, click the folder icon that appears in the top right of the tray to access that item in the Documents module.
When viewing the folder in the Documents module, click the Projects icon to the right of the item name to access that item in the Projects module.
Q: Is there an easy way to determine what the summary level (organization) of My To-Do List’s tasks are in their overall project(s)?
A: Absolutely! If you hover over the name of a task in your To-Do List report, a small box will display the name of the summary task(s) under which it belongs. Using the “>” symbol to denote different levels.
Q: When creating my password to login to Workzone, it prohibits “Commonly used patterns”. What are those?
A: These are avoided for the specific reason of making up a password that cannot easily be discovered or guessed by another. For security reasons, the exact nature of these aren’t made public. Learn more about setting up a new password here.
Q: Are there pre-built templates in Workzone?
A: Not directly, but we can add example templates to your site from a variety of industries. To do so, please contact us at (610) 275-9861 or email@example.com. Or, feel free to review our marketing-focused downloadable templates here.
Q: Are users able to have different permissions in different workspaces?
A: No, but you can restrict users to particular workspaces (unless they’re an Administrator). Also, individual items can be locked, such as projects and documents, to remain invisible to all but a select group of users.
Q: Is there any way of adjusting more than one task’s details at a time (for example, setting someone as responsible for several tasks at once)?
A: Yes. Select the tasks in the Projects module is and find the the “Edit Multiple” button. Clicking that will bring up several fields that can be altered for all of the selected tasks at once. Once the desired changes are made, the “Modify These Tasks” button will save the changes. Learn more about editing (multiple) tasks here.