Editing Tasks

Updating Tasks

Administrators can update tasks in all projects, and Managers can update tasks in any project to which they have access. Contributors, Reviewers and Partner users can only update tasks for which they are the responsible party (and for projects to which they have access).
Tasks can be edited directly from the  List or Gantt view. To edit the task name, click the 3 vertical dots to the right of the specific name and then choose Rename task. Quickly double-clicking the task name can also select the name for editing purposes.
Other task fields can be edited directly from the List view by clicking on the field that you wish to update (for non-summary rows). Make the desired change and then click Save (if shown) or click outside the field (if Save is not shown).
Automatic system comments are logged for changes to certain project and task fields, creating an audit trail of changes made to the project. Changes made to the following fields will automatically create a comment on a task:
  • Responsibility
  • Duration
  • Work
  • Start date
  • End date
  • State
  • % Complete
  • Notes
Changes made to the following project row fields will automatically create a comment in the comment list for a project:
  • Target end date
  • Responsible
  • Notes
The automatic comment will indicate who made the change, what fields were changed, the previous/current values of the changed fields, and the date and time the change was made.

By default, comment lists shows both user-created and system comments. To show only user-created comments, select the Hide System Activities checkbox (located at the top of the comments list).

Edit Multiple Tasks At Once

You can make changes to multiple tasks at the same time for the following fields:
  • Responsibility
  • Duration
  • Work
  • Start date
  • End date
  • Priority
  • Show on calendar
  • Status
  • % Complete
  • Notes
In the Projects area, click the checkboxes to the left of the tasks that you would like to update. To select all the lowest level tasks, click the checkbox in the top header row of that column. Click the Edit Multiple button that appears at the top. On the Edit Multiple Items page, click the checkboxes next to the fields you would like to change and select the new values for these fields. At the bottom, click Modify These Items. The indicated changes will be made to all of the selected tasks, and you will be returned to the main view.

For the Responsibility field, the entered values will replace existing values by default. To add additional values to the existing responsible parties, click the checkbox next to add new responsible without deleting current.

Delete A Task

In the main Projects area, click the checkbox on the left of the task row(s) you want to delete and then click the Delete button at the top. Deleting a summary task will delete all of its subtasks. Click OK if you are sure you want to permanently delete the task(s). Once tasks are deleted, they cannot be recovered.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us